Southeast Asia Trading

The Southeast Asia region is a major trade partner for the United States and continues to grow in both importance and volume.  Countries in the Southeast Asia region include Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.  Some highlights of Southeast Asia trade include:

  • In 2010, the combined Southeast Asia (& Pacific) countries became the 4th largest trading partner to the United States.
  • The region manufactures textiles, electronic high-tech goods, and heavy industrial products.
  • Indonesia is the largest economy in the region and a member of G-20 major economies.
  • Major Southeast Asian countries are members of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).
  • ASEAN has a population of approximately 600 million people, or 8.8% of the world population.
  • As a whole, ASEAN ranks as the ninth largest economy in the world.
  • The six largest ASEAN economies are Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines, Vietnam.
  • In 2007, ASEAN marked 30 years of diplomatic relations with the United States.